Eastern Oregon University > About Eastern Oregon University > University Leadership

University Leadership

President Kelly A. Ryan

Eastern Oregon University’s Board of Trustees voted unanimously to name Dr. Kelly A. Ryan as the University’s 13th President on May 9, 2023, and she began her tenure on July 1, 2023.

Dr. Ryan is passionate about the power of higher education to transform lives. Her leadership vision places student success and community engagement at the center of her work.  

Prior to joining EOU, Dr. Ryan was Interim Chancellor of Indiana University Southeast in New Albany, Indiana. In this role, she developed relationships and partnerships to increase community engagement with the institution, and orchestrated efforts to fund scholarships, student research and creativity initiatives, and support resources for faculty, staff, and student development.

Dr. Ryan has led university-wide strategic planning processes, improved accreditation practices, overseen enrollment management, instituted inclusive hiring and teaching practices, and managed the development of academic and noncredit programs and courses. She is the recipient of several awards and distinctions, including the Indiana University Bicentennial Medal and she is a four-time winner of the IU Trustees Teaching Award.  

While at Indiana University Southeast, Dr. Ryan served as Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dean of the School of Social Sciences, Coordinator for the Department of History, and Professor of History. 

Her first love was the practice and teaching of history, and she is the author of numerous publications, including two books: Regulating Passion and Everyday Crimes.  She has also provided expertise on colonial America to The Learning Channel’s popular genealogy program, Who Do You Think You Are?.

Dr. Ryan grew up in a military family as the daughter of a naval officer and thus spent her youth living in many locations, including Maryland, Maine, Florida, Virginia, California and Hawaii.  She and her husband, Adam, enjoy hiking, biking, films, and all the great restaurants they can find.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Eastern Oregon University is the governing body of the university. The Board is responsible for assuring the success of the university and has broad authority to protect the interests of the university. The Board performs such duties as determining the university’s mission and strategic plan; hiring and supervising the university president; assuring the university’s assets are properly managed; determining the university budget; and setting tuition and fees.
The Board is made up of volunteers (trustees) who are committed to the promise of higher education in eastern Oregon and beyond. Trustees are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the state Senate. Trustees are connected to the university, the region and students they serve. They are alumni, community members, and leaders in education, business, culture and government There are 15 trustees. Eleven of these are drawn from the general public. One member each is drawn from the students, staff, and faculty of the university. The fifteenth trustee is the university president, who serves ex officio without the power to vote. The trustees drawn from the general public serve four-year terms. Trustees selected from the students, faculty, and staff serve two-year terms. The Board has three standing committees that address specific areas of the Board’s work: the Academic and Student Affairs Committee, the Finance and Administration Committee, and the Governance Committee. The Board meets approximately five times per year, as do the committees. Further details of the university’s governance are defined in the Bylaws of Eastern Oregon University and the various statements and resolutions of the Board of Trustees of Eastern Oregon University.

University Divisions and Departments