Academic Affairs Staff

Adams Bitmoji


Angie Adams
Executive Assistant to the Provost

Karen_ClayKaren Clay has been the Library Director at EOU since July 2006, and has served as the EOU Accreditation Liaison Officer since August 2016.  She has a Master’s degree in Engineering from the University of British Columbia (Vancouver, Canada) as well as a Master of Library and Information Science from Dalhousie University (Halifax, Canada).  Prior to working at EOU, Karen served as Head of the Terman Engineering Library at Stanford University, and as Head of the William F. Newman Agriculture Library at the University of Manitoba.  During her tenure at EOU, Karen has led the Library through a major renovation, which was completed in fall 2012, as well as through two migrations to a new Integrated Library System (the current ILS is shared by all members of the Orbis Cascade Alliance).  Karen has served on the Board of Directors for the Orbis Cascade Alliance, and for the Sage Library System of Eastern Oregon, and has served on the Oregon State Library’s Statewide Database Licensing Advisory Committee. Karen Clay  Director of the Library and Accreditation Liaison Officer

Peter_GeissingerPeter Geissinger joined EOU as Dean of the College of Science, Technology, Math and Health Sciences on July 31, 2017.  Peter brings more than 20 years of experience in American public higher education to EOU, beginning his rich career as a Postdoctoral Research Associate at the University of California-Riverside, progressing through the instructional ranks of tenure and promotion in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, and serving as Department Chair of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee since August 2011. His educational background and experiences are interdisciplinary and international, with emphasis in theoretical condensed matter physics and experimental chemical physics.  Throughout his career, he has obtained grant funding of almost $9M as PI or Co-PI to support his faculty research and supervision of graduate and undergraduate research students.  A recent National Science Foundation grant to align remedial courses with first year natural sciences courses has been a huge success, reducing students’ time-to-degree by one year.  Peter is moving forward on all fronts—getting to know the college faculty, identifying grants to pursue, and preparing to move the new college forward through careful planning processes. Peter Geissinger Dean, College of Science, Technology, Math and Health Sciences-STMHS

Nathan_LoweNate Lowe joined EOU as Dean of the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences on August 7, 2017. Nathan brings more than 14 years of instructional and administrative experience to EOU, having served as an Associate Professor of Writing, as Chair of the Creative Arts Division, and then as Dean of the School of Humanities and Fine Arts at Lakeland University in Wisconsin. He has experience in strategic goal-setting, accreditation, assessment and curriculum review processes; he has managed performing arts facilities and labs; and he has supported the visibility of academic programs in Plymouth, Wisconsin and surrounding communities through internship and career opportunities with regional companies and non-profits. Throughout his career he has successfully engaged collaborative partnerships and programing with local and statewide organizations.  Recent accomplishments include a growing Community Book Read initiative at the Sheboygan Humanities Festival, and the Wisconsin School Music Association Festival. Nate has truly hit the ground running and in a short amount of time has begun building relationships with internal and external partners to move the new college forward with a clear identity rooted in the region. Nathan Lowe Dean, College of Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences-AHSS

Matt Seimears joined EOU as Dean of the College of Education on July 1, 2019. Matt brings more than 19 years of instructional and administrative experience to EOU, having served as a Professor of STEM and Science Education, as Associate Chair and Chair of the Elementary Education/Early Childhood Unified/Special Education Department at Emporia State University in Kansas. He has experience in CAEP accreditation, planning, and assessment, faculty evaluation, strategic goal setting, external journal editing review processes, STEM lab management, and he has created external robotics competitions for pre-service and in-service teacher networks in 22 USD’s in Kansas and national STEM industry partnerships. Throughout his career, he has successfully received 3.4 million in external grants, including a recent NSF STEM rural agricultural grant that helps rural middle and high school level students experience coding in the classroom.  His vision is to assist faculty in all colleges, assist with growing teacher frameworks in the state of Oregon, and help ESD’s and USD’s create a network to help children of Trauma and provide a robust resilience training partnership for everyone. Matt Seimears Dean, College of Education

Emily Sharratt joined EOU in January 2010 and has served as the Universities Registrar since fall 2016. Emily’s undergraduate work was in Animal Science with an emphasis in Equine science and earned her masters in Business from EOU. In her years in the registrar’s office she has worked to streamline many process and works to keep the office as efficient as possible. Emily has presented EOU Registrar office processes at OrACRAO, PACRAO and Ellucian conferences the past few years. Emily Sharratt University Registrar

David Vande Pol joined EOU as Executive Director of Regional Outreach and Innovation (ROI) on July 1, 2017. David brings more than 20 years of experience to EOU, having previously served in executive positions leading online learning initiatives for the San Diego Unified School District, Pearson Embanet, and Ashford University. He has expertise in strategic alliances and partnerships in local, regional and international arenas, is practiced in student services management, team building, and performance.  Recent accomplishments include securing MOU’s with community colleges, government agencies, and international corporations resulting in brand recognition and increased market share of online students.  He has brought to conclusion several MOU’s for EOU during the summer months, and we look forward to the launch of several more initiatives from ROI in the months to come. David Vande Pol  Executive Director of Regional Outreach and Innovation

Sarah Witte has served as Provost since July 2014. She has served as Vice Provost at Eastern Oregon University since 2005 and has been an English/Writing faculty member at Eastern Oregon University since 1990. Dr. Witte received her Bachelor degree from Creighton University, her Masters degree from Marquette University and her PhD from University of Iowa. Sarah Witte Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Wolff Donald

Donald Wolff, Professor of English/Writing and Vice Provost for Academic Quality, has been working at EOU since 1991.  Donald brings more than 30 years of teaching and administrative experience to his current position.   He has expertise in learning outcomes assessment, accreditation, academic quality, faculty professional development, online teaching pedagogy and evaluation.  The Office of the Vice Provost coordinates the General Education Curriculum and Academic Program annual learning outcomes assessments and the schedule of faculty professional development opportunities, including those focused on educational technology.  Donald Wolff  Vice Provost for Academic Quality