Eastern Oregon University Home > Writing MFA > EOU Visiting Writers Series

EOU Visiting Writers Series

And the Carl and Sandra Ellston Ars Poetica Fund

The EOU literary lecture series has promoted literary arts in the region since its inception in the early 1960s, hosting as many as a dozen visiting writers every academic year. Past visiting writers include Czeslaw Milosz, Denise Levertov, Richard Hugo, William Stafford, Robert Creeley, among others.

In more recent years, Ars Poetica has hosted readings and workshops by Carl Adamshick, Sandra Alcosser, Sherman Alexie, Christopher Buckley, Kerry Cohen, Jon Davis, Matthew Dickman, Anthony Doerr, Danielle Deulen, Debra Earling, Scott Elliot, Molly Gloss, Garrett Hongo, Marie Howe, Thomas Kennedy, Keejte Kuipers, William Kittredge, Melissa Kwasny, Dorianne Laux, Michael McGriff, Joseph Millar, Lance Olsen, Katrina Roberts, Peter Rock, Primus St. John, Carter Sickels, Mandy Smoker, Jess Walter, Crystal Williams, and many more.

Now supported, in part, by the Carl and Sandra Ellston Ars Poetica Fund, EOU’s Visiting Writers Series continues to bring standout writers to campus, in person and virtually, for readings and conversation. Scroll below for some of our latest visitors and please subscribe to our YouTube channel. Older reading events are available here.*

Upcoming 2022 Events:

November 1, 2022, 6 pm PT, EOU Library and live-streamed: Essayist, poet, and environmental activist Taylor Brorby reading and in conversation with Nick Neely, Assistant Professor of English/Writing. Brorby is the author of the new memoir Boys and Oil: Growing Up Gay in a Fractured LandIn a New York Times review, novelist Jung Yun writes, “Brorby has written not only a truly great memoir, but also a frighteningly relevant one that speaks to the many battles we still have left to fight.” Brorby is currently the Annie Tanner Clark Fellow in Environmental Humanities and Environmental Justice at the University of Utah. Books will be for sale at the event.

Previous Ars Poetica Guests:

May 21, 5 pm PT, Gilbert Center Plaza: Memoirist Tina Ontiveros reading and in conversation with Nick Neely, Assistant Professor of English/Writing. Ontiveros’s debut book is Rough House (Oregon State UP 2021): “A memoir of family, addiction, joy, and adventure set in the rural spaces of the Pacific Northwest. Ontiveros follows her logger father as he migrates across his wooded territory, cobbling together shelters for his family, burning bridges, and forever starting over.” The book won a Pacific Northwest Book Award and was a finalist for the 2022 Oregon Book Award in Creative Nonfiction. Our first in-person Ars Poetica in several years, held during the inaugural EOU Arts Fest.


April 28, 2022, 6 pm PT, Zoom: Poet Allison Adelle Hedge Coke reading and in conversation with MFA faculty member Abigail Chabitnoy. Hedge Coke’s newest book, now a National Book Award finalist, is Look at This Blue (Coffee House Press 2022): “Interweaving elegy, indictment, and hope into a love letter to California, Look at This Blue examines America’s genocidal past and present to warn of a future threatened by mass extinction and climate peril.” Hedge Coke has written seven books of poetry, a book of nonfiction, and a play, and has edited ten anthologies. She is a distinguished professor of creative writing at the University of California, Riverside.


April 7, 6 pm PT, Zoom: Essayist Marco Wilkinson reading and in conversation with Nick Neely, Assistant Professor of English/Writing. Wilkinson’s debut is Madder: A Memoir in Weeds (Coffee House Press 2021), which “combines poetic meditations on nature, immigration, queer sensuality, and willful forgetting with recollections of Wilkinson’s Rhode Island childhood and glimpses of his maternal family’s life in Uruguay.” A one-time farmer and horticulturist, Wilkinson has taught at Oberlin College; University of California, San Diego; James Madison University; and in Antioch University’s MFA program. His essays have appeared in journals such as Kenyon Review, Seneca Review, and Bennington Review. He is the nonfiction editor of the Los Angeles Review.


March 3, 2022, 6 pm PT, Zoom: Featuring Katherine Standefer, author of Lightning Flowers: My Journey to Uncover the Cost of Saving a Life, about her troubled relationship to her own implanted cardiac defibrillator; and Emily Maloney, whose first book The Cost of Living: Essays, chronicles her experiences as both patient and caregiver. In conversation with MFA faculty member Melissa Matthewson.


February 10, 2002, 6 pm PT, Zoom: Featuring novelist Kirstin Valdez Quade, award-winning author of The Five Wounds and Night at the Fiestas, in conversation with MFA faculty member Claire Boyles. (Click here or on image for recording.)

Ars Poetica Recording

(Click here or on image for recording)


January 20, 2022, 6 pm PT, Zoom: A reading and conversation about the anthology Evergreen: Grim Tales & Verse from the Gloomy Northwest (Scablands 2021) featuring editors Sharma Shields and Maya Jewell Zeller, and contributors Beth Piatote, Joe Wilkins (an EOU MFA faculty member), and Alexander Ortega (current EOU MFA student).


December 2, 2021, 12 pm PT, Zoom: A reading and conversation with Ben Ehrenreich about his most recent book, Desert Notebooks: A Roadmap for the End of Time, a New York Times Notable Book of 2020. His previous books include one of The Guardian‘s Best Books of 2016, The Way to the Spring: Life and Death in Palestine, and two novels, Ether and The Suitors.

November 14, 2021

June 15, 2021

May 20, 2021

April 29, 2021

April 8, 2021

March 10, 2021