Eastern Oregon University > EOU Board of Trustees > Finance and Administration Committee Members

Finance and Administration Committee Members

Danny Bailey

Education: Eastern Oregon University, Bachelor of Music; Western Oregon University, Master of Science in Education – Curriculum & Instruction

Occupation: Scholarship Coordinator, Eastern Oregon University

Biography: A Willamette Valley native, Danny finished his Music Degree from EOU in 2014. Danny began working in the Financial Aid Office in 2016 and prides himself that his position helps other Mounties to be financially successful during their educational journey. When able, Danny enjoys participating in Music and Theatre performances around the valley. Most recently, he is the music director for two different performing ensembles in La Grande.

Bobbie Conner

Education: Willamette University, Master of Management; University of Oregon, Bachelor’s in Journalism.

Occupation: Director, Tamástslikt Cultural Institute.

Biography: Roberta has been the Director of the Tamástslikt Cultural Institute since 1998. She is a well-published writer and lecturer on cultural preservation issues and mentors young scholars who are interested in tribal cultural preservation. In 2007 she received the Ecotrust Indigenous Leadership Award for her work representing the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR).

Tom Insko, President

Ex-officio Member

Education: College of William and Mary, Master of Business Administration; Eastern Oregon University, Bachelor’s in Mathematics and Business Economics.

Occupation: Eastern Oregon University President.

Biography: Prior to his presidency at EOU, Tom worked for Boise Cascade for 20 years with the majority of his responsibilities focused on operations management. A native eastern Oregonian, Tom grew up on his family’s farm located north of La Grande. He has served as the EOU Foundation president and as a member of the Board of Trustees.

Bill Johnson

Education: Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Bachelor of Science in Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Occupation: Owner of Sage Farms; a multi-faceted farm in the Treasure Valley.

Biography: Raised in Vale, Bill joined Microsoft after college where he led the design of early versions of Microsoft Excel. Later, he served as Vice President of Program Management at InterNAP, an internet routing optimization firm. He is a founding member of Malheur County Poverty to Prosperity and serves on several other business and agricultural boards. Sage farms produces crops on over 5,000 irrigated acres.

Tamra Mabbott




Abel Mendoza (Vice Chair)

Education: Eastern Oregon University, Bachelor of Arts in General Studies and Chemistry.

Occupation: Retired EOU Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Retired Dow Chemical Researcher.

Biography: Following a prestigious career at Dow Chemical, Abel returned to eastern Oregon in 2001 to enjoy his retirement. In 2004, he began teaching at his alma mater as an Assistant Professor of Chemistry and retired from this position in 2014. He is an inventor and holds 28 patents.

Brad Stephens (Chair)

Education: Harvard University, AB, 1964; Tufts University School of Medicine, MD, 1968; Dartmouth Medical School Orthopedic Residency, 1975.

Occupation: Retired orthopedic surgeon.

Biography: Brad established his orthopedic surgery practice in La Grande in 1975 and was the team physician for EOU, helping teach courses on athletic injuries. In 1993 he was named Medical Director of the United State Olympic Training Center in Lake Placid, New York. He returned to Eastern Oregon in 2007 and settled in Wallowa County, where he practiced until 2014. He has served as Secretary to the EOU Foundation Board of Directors for the past two years and is the Chair of Wallowa Resources, a nonprofit dedicated to sustaining the working landscape in Wallowa County.