Eastern Oregon University > Press > Retired professor named American Chemical Society Fellow

Retired professor named American Chemical Society Fellow

Retired professor named American Chemical Society Fellow

Contact: Joan B. CoyleAmerican Chemical Society, Office of Public Affairs
202-872-6229 | www.acs.org


Richard Hermens

November 20, 2012
— The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named Richard Hermens, retired EOU professor of chemistry, to the 2012 class of ACS Fellows.

This prestigious honor was given to 96 distinguished scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and made important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society. They represent 23 technical divisions, 52 local sections and reflect a wide range of disciplines and geographic locations.

“These chemists hold the future to our country, to our way of life and to the legacy we will leave for the next generation,” said Bassam Z. Shakhashiri, Ph.D., ACS president. “Whether it’s producing renewable fuels, finding cures for afflictions such as diabetes, cancer, AIDS and Alzheimer’s disease or ensuring safe drinking water, these Fellows are scientific leaders, improving our lives through the transforming power of chemistry.”

Hermens was recognized at an induction ceremony during the Society’s 244th National Meeting & Exposition in Philadelphia.

The ACS Fellows Program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 “to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to Science, the Profession and the Society.” Fellows come from academe, industry and government.

Hermens enjoyed a 35-year career teaching physical, analytical, inorganic and general chemistry. A 50-year member of the ACS, he was instrumental in organizing the Eastern Oregon Science Journal which opened the door to students in any science and mathematical field to publish their research.

Hermens also served as chair of the science division at EOU for 12 years and was a member of numerous national and regional ACS committees. He retired in 2001 and received the Honorary Alumnus Award in 2010.

The official list of names appeared in the July 23 issue of Chemical & Engineering News.