Eastern Oregon University > Press > Faculty and staff awards

Faculty and staff awards

EOU faculty and staff recognized for outstanding service

News contact: Laura Hancock | University Advancement
541-962-3585 | lhancock@eou.edu
June 30, 2011

LA GRANDE, Ore. (EOU) – Eastern Oregon University recently honored members of its faculty and classified staff for outstanding service during the 2010-11 academic year.

Awards for Distinguished Teaching and Administrative Faculty were presented to Nancy Knowles, professor of English and writing, and Elizabeth Burton, director of Academic and Career Advising.

Knowles has been teaching at EOU since 2000 and Burton has worked with distance education services since 1997. Both were recognized for their dedication to students and the communities served by the university during the annual Faculty Recognition Dinner in June.

Also acknowledged were retiring faculty Ruth Davenport, Vickie Lee and Frederick Pratter.

Members of EOU’s classified staff were commended collectively during an event in May. Awards were also presented to the following individuals: Jeff Davis, Distinguished Classified Staff Award; Jerry Brown, Customer Service Award; and Jerry Hurd, Student Service Award. Additionally, Helen Moore was recognized for 30 years of service, Sue Rayburn for 20 years and Janet Frye, Tim Wilson, Kandi Savage, Debbie Rogers and Kathryn Shorts for 10 years.

Classified retirees are Ron Cleary, Jerry Brown and Max Moffit.