Eastern Oregon University > Academics > ASTEO Scholars shine at EOU

ASTEO Scholars shine at EOU

ASTEO Scholars shine at EOUASTEO Scholars 2017-18

Jan. 2, 2018 La Grande, Ore. — A scholarship funded by the National Science Foundation made the difference for Eastern Oregon University freshman Zachary Johnson this fall.

Johnson, a computer science major from Garden Valley, Idaho, joined the ranks of EOU’s ASTEO Scholars after a school counselor recommended he apply to EOU.

ASTEO, an acronym for Advancing Science and Technology in Eastern Oregon, provides scholarships to biology, chemistry-biochemistry, computer science and mathematics students at EOU.

“This scholarship is one of the primary reasons for choosing EOU,” Johnson said. “It made paying for tuition more than possible and I couldn’t be more grateful.”

The program provides up to $7,500 annually toward tuition and fees for eligible freshmen and new transfer students. Recipients, like Johnson, have their sights set on graduate school or a career in a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) field. Once awarded, ASTEO Scholars live in a STEM community in EOU’s residence halls, attend monthly activities with faculty, and complete internships and hands-on learning experiences.

In addition to Johnson, this year’s ASTEO Scholars include: Tasia Allen, a freshman math major; Ryan Bailey, a computer science junior; Danielle Church, a freshman from Parma, Idaho; Felix Hamerlynck, a chemistry-biochemistry major from Hines; Darin Hauner, a senior studying computer science and chemistry-biochemistry; Daniel Holloway, a computer science sophomore from La Grande; Sydney Peal, a sophomore in biology from Weston; Tanner Pearson, a senior in biology from Pendleton; Emerald Tresch, a freshman chemistry-biochemistry major from Salem; and Malcolm Zoon, a junior studying computer science. Chemistry professor Anna Cavinato coordinates the ASTEO program.

Johnson’s mother is an EOU alumna, and he plans to pursue an advanced degree at Boise State University after completing his bachelor’s in La Grande. Johnson said he has found a welcoming community on campus.

“I love it here at EOU. My favorite club would have to be the gaming club,” Johnson said.

Applicants must also meet high standards for test scores, complete the FAFSA, and submit an ASTEO Scholarship Application by Feb. 1, 2018. The selection process involves a thorough application review followed by an interview with the ASTEO Scholars selection committee. View the full list of requirements and learn more about the program at eou.edu/asteo.