Eastern Oregon University > Academics > Meet the ASTEO Scholars

Meet the ASTEO Scholars

ASTEO Scholars
Photo by Laura Hancock / Students selected in 2016 to receive the new ASTEO scholarship at EOU are from left: Justine Oswalt, Jamie Waltenburg, Haley Breen, Raeanne Slaght, Saige Wilkerson, Michael Luttrell, Quentin Durfee and Justin T. Wright.

Introducing EOU’s first cohort of ASTEO Scholars

Story by Laura Hancock, University Advancement, 541-962-3585 

LA GRANDE, Ore. December 19, 2016 – Students from the first cohort to receive a new scholarship funded by the National Science Foundation have completed fall term at Eastern Oregon University.

Known as ASTEO Scholars, the eight undergraduates are majoring in biology, chemistry-biochemistry, computer science or mathematics and hail from across the region. ASTEO, which stands for Advancing Science and Technology in Eastern Oregon, was established with a grant from the National Science Foundation’s S-STEM program.

> Learn more about the ASTEO Scholars! Click their names to view individual profiles. 

– Haley Breen of Vancouver, Wash.
– Quentin Durfee, of La Grande, Ore.
– Michael Luttrell of John Day, Ore.
– Justine Oswalt of Temecula, Calif.
– Raeanne Slaght of Culver, Ore.
– Jamie Waltenburg of Dayville, Ore.
– Saige Wilkerson of Emmett, Idaho
– Justin T. Wright of The Dalles, Ore.

Faculty at EOU regularly involve undergraduates in their research, giving them the opportunity to contribute to larger projects and become comfortable using state-of-the-art equipment in the university science center. Faculty advisors also work closely with the ASTEO Scholars, serving as mentors in career preparation and facilitating seminar courses and field trips. These and other efforts align with the National Science Foundation’s goal to support students intending to join industry or enter graduate school after completing their undergraduate degrees.

Eligible ASTEO Scholars may receive up to $7,500 annually for tuition and fees, depending on their unmet need. Preference is given to applicants demonstrating both academic potential or ability and financial need. Students may also combine awards from the federal Pell program, Oregon Opportunity Grant, university fee remissions and other funding sources for additional financial assistance.