Eastern Oregon University > Press > 2012 Women of Vision & Courage Awards announced

2012 Women of Vision & Courage Awards announced

2012 Women of Vision & Courage Awards announced

News contact: Laura Hancock | University Advancement
541-962-3585 | lhancock@eou.edu

March 16, 2012
LA GRANDE, Ore. (EOU) – The President’s Commission on the Status of Women at EOU has announced the recipients of the 2012 Women of Vision and Courage Awards.

Mary Koza

Mary Koza, Anji Weissenfluh, and Lisa Moody were honored and presented with their awards during a ceremony Wednesday, Mar. 14 in the Hoke Main Lounge.

All three recipients share strong ties to EOU.  Koza is the director of the Liberal Studies program and a longtime resident of Union County. She is the recipient of the Community Award.

Anji Weissenfluh

Weissenfluh, recipient of the Faculty/Staff Award, is the head coach for the Mountaineer women’s basketball team.

Moody, who was unable to attend the ceremony, is currently enrolled at EOU and is the recipient of the Student Award.

The PCSW solicited nominations from the university and Union County community. Award winners are selected based on demonstration of vision, courage and leadership in creating a more inclusive, equitable community, especially in promoting the rights of women and girls.

Related story: Nominations sought for Women of Vision & Courage Awards


Photos by Bill Grigsby / Award recipients pictured from left, Anji Weissenfluh, Linda Densmore, Dawn Schiller, Anna Maria Dill, Nancy Knowles, Susan Whitelock, Gerta Brownton, Linda Jerofke, Lorna Spain, Mary Koza and April Curtis. Not pictured: Lisa Moody.