

## BOARD OF TRUSTEES POSITION DESCRIPTION INSTITUTIONAL GOVERNING BOARD

The Board of Trustees of Eastern Oregon University is the governing body of the university. The Board has a fiduciary duty to safeguard the independence of the university, assure the quality of its services, and guide its future success. The Board, which is voluntary and appointed by the governor, is made up of 15 members: the university president, 11 members of the public, and one member each drawn from the faculty, staff, and students. The Board meets in person at least five times per year (usually in La Grande) and has three subcommittees which meet more frequently or as needed by phone/video or in person. The university covers transportation and lodging costs for trustees.

EOU seeks board members who are connected to the University, the region and students we serve. They are alumni, community members, business people, educators and political leaders who are committed to the values and promise of higher education in eastern Oregon and beyond. The 11 trustees drawn from the general public serve four-year terms. Trustees selected for the faculty, staff, or student trustee positions serve two-year terms. The trustees drawn from the faculty, staff or students have the same duties as other trustees, and do not "represent" those constituencies.

## **Overview of Board Responsibilities**

Board responsibilities include, but are not limited, to:

- Oversee the affairs of the university;
- Approve the mission, vision and core themes of the university;
- Hire and review the President:
- Approve the university budget;
- Set tuition and fees;
- Submit legislative budget requests to the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC);
- Review education and service programs;
- Establish agreements with other entities;
- Manage university properties;
- Issue bonds;
- Approve collective bargaining.
- Report annually to the (HECC).

## **Contacts**

For additional information on the nomination process and the Board of Trustees, please contact Tim Seydel or Chris Burford:

Tim Seydel, Vice President for University Advancement 541-962-3740 | tseydel@eou.edu

Chris Burford, General Counsel and Board Secretary 541-962-4101 | cburford@eou.edu