

Board of Trustees

MINUTES

Executive Session of the Board of Trustees
May 1st, 2015, 9:00 a.m.
Dixie Lund Boardroom, Inlow Hall
Eastern Oregon University
La Grande, Oregon

Trustees Present: David Nelson (Chair), Ray Brown, Holly Kerfoot, Richard Chaves, Dixie Lund, Cheryl Martin, Pat Hinton, Abel Mendoza, Elsie Praeger-Goller, George Mendoza, Bill Johnson (nominee), Bobbie Conner (phone 9:07 AM).

Oregon State Board Members Present: (All State members joined by phone at 2:00 PM) Dave Yaden, Ryan Hagemann, Brittany Kenison, Emily Plec, Bill Thorndike, Jim Baurmgartner, Jim Middleton, Jim Francesconi, Shea Washington, Chancellor Cathy Dyck, Charles Burck.

University Staff Present: Chris Burford, Heidi Tilicki.

Media: Dick Mason

Other Authorized Attendees: None.

Chair David Nelson called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM. Following roll-call, Secretary Chris Burford announced that the Board was meeting in executive session pursuant to ORS 192.660(2)(a) for the purposes of considering the employment of a public official. Pursuant to ORS192.660(4), representatives of the news media are allowed to attend but the Board requires that the discussions and any reports received in executive session be undisclosed. Pursuant to ORS 192.660(6), no final action will be taken or final decision made in the executive session.

The Board deliberated until Chair Nelson called for a recess at 11:56 AM.

Chair Nelson called the EOU Board of Trustees back into executive session at 1:57 PM, meeting jointly (by phone) with the State Board of Higher Education. Of the EOU Board Members who had been present in the morning, only George Mendoza and Bobbie Conner were absent. No new ones were in attendance.

The meeting was chaired by State Board of Higher Education Chair David Yaden. Following discussion, the joint meeting adjourned at 2:35 PM. The EOU continued discussion until adjourning at 2:46 PM.

